Home > RELEASE > Conferences >


IEA Clean Energy Transitions Summit

Release Date:2020-07-08 17:26:36     Source:IEA

The year’s largest global gathering on energy and climate

Ministers from countries representing the vast majority of global GDP,energy use and greenhouse gas emissions will take part in the IEA's Clean Energy Transitions Summit on Thursday 9 July,gathering around a virtual table to discuss measures to boost economies,create jobs,reduce global emissions and make energy systems more resilient.Ministers in attendance will represent almost 80%of global energy consumption and global carbon emissions,making the Summit the highest-profile energy and climate discussion since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Participants include representatives of the world’s largest energy users:Minister Zhang Jianhua of China,Secretary Dan Brouillette of the United States,Minister R.K.Singh of India,Executive Vice-President Frans Timmermans of the European Commission,and Minister Kajiyama Hiroshi of Japan.

Among the high-level participants will be António Guterres,Secretary-General of the United Nations,and Alok Sharma,Secretary of State of the United Kingdom and President of the upcoming COP26,as well as Ministers representing the countries that held the past two COP meetings.They will be joined by the President of the Asian Development Bank,the President of the World Economic Forum(Davos),CEOs from across the energy sector,major investors,and representatives from civil society.

In addition to two plenary sessions,the Summit will consist of high-level panels.These will focus on Accelerating Clean Energy Technology Innovation,an Inclusive and Equitable Recovery,and a Resilient and Sustainable Electricity Sector.


12h00–13h45:Opening Plenary Session

Welcome and opening remarks by the IEA Executive Director

Special address by the UN Secretary-General António Guterres

Interventions by Ministers

13h45–14h45:High-Level Panels(parallel sessions)

Panel 1:Accelerating Clean Energy Technology Innovation

Co-chaired by H.E.Tina Bru,Minister of Petroleum and Energy,Norway

Co-chaired by H.E.Juan Carlos Jobet,Minister of Energy,Chile

Panel 2:An Inclusive and Equitable Recovery

Co-chaired by The Honourable Seamus O’Regan,Minister of Natural Resources,Canada

Co-chaired by H.E.Aziz Rabbah,Minister of Energy,Mines and Environment of Morocco

Panel 3:Electricity Security and Sustainability

Co-chaired by H.E.Kadri Simson,European Commissioner for Energy,European Commission

Co-chaired by H.E.Sontirat Sontijirawong,Minister of Energy,Thailand


14h50–15h15:Plenary Session–Concluding remarks and Way forward

Interventions by Ministers

Way forward with Dr Fatih Birol,IEA Executive Director



About us | Contact us | Legal notice

Sponsored by National Energy Administration          Operated by China Information Corporation

Registration number:11044902

It's recommended to use the Chrome,Firefox,IE9 and above browsers to get a better view.