Home> Data>



Release Date : 2020-04-09 16:25:44   Source:

[Brief Information]

The International Energy Agency (IEA), as an energy policy adviser to 30 member states, works with Member States to ensure the reliability, economy and sustainability of their energy. The International Energy Agency was established during the 1973-74 oil crisis, and its initial role was to coordinate the response to oil supply emergencies. The International Energy Agency's partnership with China began in 1996, after which the cooperation covers a wide range of areas.

[Founded Time]

In 1974.


Founded in 1974, the IEA was initially designed to help countries co-ordinate a collective response to major disruptions in the supply of oil, such as the crisis of 1973/4. While this remains a key aspect of its work, the IEA has evolved and expanded significantly.

The four main areas of IEA focus are:

Energy Security: Promoting diversity, efficiency, flexibility and reliability for all fuels and energy sources;

Economic Development: Supporting free markets to foster economic growth and eliminate energy poverty;

Environmental Awareness: Analysing policy options to offset the impact of energy production and use on the environment, especially for tackling climate change and air pollution;

Engagement Worldwide: Working closely with partner countries, especially major emerging economies, to find solutions to shared energy and environmental concerns.


The IEA is made up of 30 member countries.In addition,thanks to its successful open door policy to emerging countries,the IEA family also includes eight association countries.Two countries are seeking accession to full membership,Chile and Lithuania.




About us | Contact us | Legal notice

Sponsored by National Energy Administration          Operated by China Information Corporation

Registration number:11044902

It's recommended to use the Chrome,Firefox,IE9 and above browsers to get a better view.